Lightning’s playoff collapse continues ‘curse’ of the Presidents’ Trophy

first_imgWho is to say it’s a jinx? Who is to say any of it was a deterrent? But in 2008, Detroit captain Nicklas Lidstrom did not touch the trophy and the Red Wings won the Stanley Cup.In the end, what we do know is Columbus rightfully won the series. It will set a big reminder to future Presidents’ Trophy winners that nothing is ever guaranteed.MORE: Hockey world reacts to Lightning’s shocking first-round exitPresidents’ Trophy-winning team’s playoff resultsYEARTEAMPLAYOFF RESULT1985-86Edmonton OilersLost in division final to CGY1986-87Edmonton OilersWon Stanley Cup1987-88Calgary FlamesLost in division final to EDM1988–89Calgary FlamesWon Stanley Cup1989–90Boston BruinsLost in Stanley Cup Final to EDM1990–91Chicago BlackhawksLost in division semifinal to MIN1991–92New York RangersLost in division final to PIT1992–93Pittsburgh PenguinsLost in division final to NYI1993–94New York RangersWon Stanley Cup1994–95Detroit Red WingsLost in Stanley Cup Final to NJD1995–96Detroit Red WingsLost in conference final to COL1996–97Colorado AvalancheLost in conference final to DET1997–98Dallas StarsLost in conference final to DET1998–99Dallas StarsWon Stanley Cup1999–00St. Louis BluesLost in conference quarterfinal to SJS2000–01Colorado AvalancheWon Stanley Cup2001–02Detroit Red WingsWon Stanley Cup2002–03Ottawa SenatorsLost in conference final to NJD2003–04Detroit Red WingsLost in conference semifinal to CGY2004–05Lockout2005–06Detroit Red WingsLost in conference quarterfinal to EDM2006–07Buffalo SabresLost in conference final to OTT2007–08Detroit Red WingsWon Stanley Cup2008–09San Jose SharksLost in conference quarterfinal to ANA2009–10Washington CapitalsLost in conference quarterfinal to MTL2010–11Vancouver CanucksLost in Stanley Cup Final to BOS2011–12Vancouver CanucksLost in conference quarterfinal to LAK2012–13Chicago BlackhawksWon Stanley Cup2013–14Boston BruinsLost in second round to MTL2014–15New York RangersLost in conference final to TBL2015–16Washington CapitalsLost in second round to PIT2016–17Washington CapitalsLost in second round to PIT2017–18Nashville PredatorsLost in second round to WPG2018–19Tampa Bay LightningLost in first round to CBJ busy pregame for stammer! he accepted the presidents’ trophy as well as a silver stick from vinny and mr. vinik to honor him on becoming the new all-time leading goal-scorer in franchise history. ⚡️A post shared by Tampa Bay Lightning (@tblightning) on Mar 30, 2019 at 4:43pm PDTAs they say, you should not touch the Stanley Cup before you win it. Does touching the Presidents’ Trophy harbor some kind of similar curse for the superstitious? Yes, you can argue the team has already won it, but how many times have we seen teams not touch the Prince of Wales Trophy or Clarence S. Campbell Bowl after advancing to the Stanley Cup Final? It was quite a shocker Tuesday night when the Presidents’ Trophy-winning Lightning were handed a swift exit from the 2019 Stanley Cup playoffs by the Blue Jackets.From puck drop in Game 1, it was evident the Lightning were outplayed and outhustled by the de facto 8-seed Blue Jackets. Not to take anything away from Columbus, but were there other elements that led to Tampa’s demise? It’s not often a team wins 62 games in the regular season and is swept in the first round — *checks notes* — oh, right, it’s never happened before. The 1995-96 Red Wings, the team the Lightning tied for the all-time wins record, lost in the Western Conference finals.  View this post on Instagram The three teams above threw caution to the wind and touched the trophy. Nashville even posed as a team with it, and yep, they all did not win the Cup. Al MacInnis doesn’t look too thrilled Chris Pronger is lifting the trophy. MORE: 3 takeaways from Blue Jackets’ stunning sweep of LightningOf course, winning the Presidents’ Trophy does not guarantee the Stanley Cup, ever. The NHL playoffs are a grind for a reason. Since the trophy’s creation prior to the 1985-86 season, only eight teams have gone on to lift Lord Stanley’s Cup. That means in the 33 years of the award, 76 percent have not won the Cup — not a great percentage for the top team in the NHL.Are the Lightning the first team to lose in the first round? No, of course not. Six other teams have bowed out quickly. However, all went to at least five games, if not the full seven. The most notable prior to Tuesday night was the 2011-2 Vancouver Canucks, who lost in the Stanley Cup Final the previous year (after the winning the Presidents’ Trophy) and were shellacked by the eventual Stanley Cup champion Kings in five games.Aside from those reasons, could it just come down to the fact that captain Steven Stamkos touched the trophy? (Getty Images)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *