Mankad controversy hits Pakistan cricket, Salman Butt not impressed

first_imgA Mankad storm is brewing up in Pakistan cricket and it has threatened to sour the country’s prestigious domestic tournament, the Quiad-e-Azam Trophy.In a Quaid-e-Azam Trophy match between WAPDA and Peshawar, a Peshawar bowler ran-out non-striker Mohammad Irfan — who was casually wandering outside the crease at the time of the delivery. Taj Wali in the process won the match for his team form an almost improbable position as WAPDA needed just four runs to win from 78 overs with one wicket in hand however.Wali was just about to deliver the ball, when he saw Irfan outside the popping crease and following that, he just flicked the bails of and appealed. Following the law, the umpire had to give Irfan out once the bowler appealed and in the process Peshawar won the match.The on-field umpires — Ahmed Shahab and Faisal Afridi asked the fielding side about rethinking the appeal but they didn’t and Peshawar won by three runs.Talking about the incident later, WAPDA captain Salman Butt said that the game didn’t end in a proper way as sportsman spirit should have been the top priority.”What’s the point of this law when the winning team isn’t proud and ashamed instead?” Butt told ESPNcricinfo. “We had a great game, fully competitive throughout four days, which saw both teams’ fortunes fluctuate. And suddenly this Mankading spoiled it. Sportsman spirit should have been the top priority but the game didn’t end in a proper way. What’s the point of this law when the opponent team despite winning apologises to us?”advertisementHowever, according to the ICC playing regulations, also followed in Pakistan domestic cricket, the dismissal was clearly fair.This is what the MCC rule-book says:”The MCC (Law 42.15) states that “The bowler is permitted, before entering his delivery stride, to attempt to run out the non-striker. Whether the attempt is successful or not, the ball shall not count as one of the over. If the bowler fails in an attempt to run out the non-striker, the umpire shall call and signal Dead ball as soon as possible.”However, there is a slight difference from that in the ICC rule-book, where the rules were changed since 1st of October 2011The ICC rule and the difference:”The bowler is permitted, before releasing the ball and provided he has not completed his usual delivery swing, to attempt to run out the non-striker. Whether the attempt is successful or not, the ball shall not count as one of the over. If the bowler fails in an attempt to run out the non-striker, the umpire shall call and signal dead ball as soon possible.”last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *